The Manitoba Human Rights Commission, the Canadian Human Rights Commission, and the Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties proudly present the annual Manitoba Human Rights Awards. These awards are given out every year in celebration of International Human Rights Day. Please RSVP here.

This year's celebration will be on Thursday, December 7th, 2017.

RBC Convention Centre, Carlton Concourse, 3rd Floor.

Reception | 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Formal program | 5:30pm

Please RSVP by following this link!

Light refreshments will be served.

The winner of our Human Rights Contest for Grades 1 to 6 will light a special candle. Students submitted pictures, paragraphs, and poems telling us why they believe human rights are important in Manitoba.

This year, four awards will be presented:

The Human Rights Commitment Award honours any individual or group who has worked to promote human rights and fundamental freedoms in Manitoba, annually recognizing the significant work of people throughout Manitoba to advance human rights. The winner of the Human Rights Commitment Award will receive a unique piece of art by created by Marcela Salazar, a Winnipeg artist.

The Sybil Shack Human Rights Youth Award recognizes the work of a person or group of people, 25 years old and under, that has had an impact on the advancement of human rights. This award is presented in memory of Sybil Shack, member of the Order of Canada, and a renowned educator, author, former President of MARL and the Canadian Civil Liberties Association.

The Reconciliation Award will be given out this year for the second time only to recognize a significant contribution to reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous people in Manitoba.

The inaugural Aaron Berg Award will be given to an individual involved in the legal profession who has contributed to the advancement of human rights. The award is presented in honour of the late Aaron Berg, distinguished community member and lawyer, advancing human rights and administrative law in the province of Manitoba.

Everyone is encouraged to attend the award reception in honour of this year’s recipients.

Award recipients will be announced on Monday, November 27th.

We use cookies to improve your experience using this website. To learn more, read our privacy policy.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse